Dec 13, 2012

2013 U.S. Water Prize Nomination Deadline Extended

Nomination deadline extended to Dec. 31, 2012, 11:59 p.m.

U.S. Water Alliance 2013 Water Prize Nominations Deadline Extension

The U.S. Water Alliance announced has extended the 2013 U.S. Water Prize nomination deadline to Dec. 31, 2012, 11:59 p.m.

The U.S. Water Prize recognizes individuals and institutions that have taken the initiative, shown innovation, and contributed to greater water sustainability. You can download your nomination form online here and submit your application via email.

Launched in 2010, the U.S. Water Prize seeks to recognize successful efforts in protecting and improving the health of our nation’s watersheds. Past winners include:


  • Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District
  • PepsiCo Frito-Lay
  • Philadelphia Water Department
  • Project WET Foundation
  • Salmon Falls Watershed Collaborative
  • San Francisco Public Utilities Commission

The U.S. Water Alliance created the U.S. Water Prize to encourage, celebrate, and honor individuals and institutions that develop projects or programs that are innovative and have a clear impact on the advancement of water sustainability. Individuals, institutions, and organizations whose project or initiative advances holistic, watershed-based approaches to water quality and quantity challenges may apply. Initiatives may be in education, public awareness, research, technology, water resource management, or policy development as long as they address issues surrounding water as a finite, reusable and sustainable resource.

Three winners will be celebrated in a special ceremony held on Earth Day April 22, 2013 in Washington, D.C.