Sep 13, 2016

2016 Stockholm Junior Water Prize Winners Honored

Award recognizes students’ outstanding water-related projects

stockholm, prize, water, students, winners, award, thailand

The Stockholm Intl. Water Institute honored the winners of the 2016 Stockholm Junior Water Prize (SJWP): Sureeporn Triphetprapa, Thidarat Phianchat and Kanjana Komkla of Thailand. H. R. H. Prince Carl Philip of Sweden presented the award at World Water Week.

Triphetprapa, Phianchat and Komkla earned the award for their project, Natural Innovative Water Retention Mimicry Bromeliad (Aechmea aculeotospala). The winners received the top prize of $15,000 and a prize sculpture. Their school will receive a $5,000 grant.

The SJWP is presented each year to students between the ages of 15 and 20 for outstanding water-related projects that focus on topics of environmental, scientific, social or technological importance. Winners from 29 countries competed for the international honor, which was awarded by an international jury of water professionals and scientists.

“Water has always been critical to society’s ability to grow and prosper,” said Patrick Decker, president and CEO for Xylem Inc. Xylem has been a sponsor of the SJWP global competition since its inception 20 years ago. Today, the competition draws entries from students in nearly 30 countries around the world.

“As the global founding sponsor of the Stockholm Junior Water Prize, we are committed to encouraging the creativity and passion of the next generation of water industry leaders as they strive to solve the complex water issues that we face. Drawing on the talent that this competition brings forward, we are working to further support current, past and future participants as they continue their education and water-related studies," Decker said.

A Diploma of Excellence was awarded to Gabriel David Alejandro Trujillo, Eunice Yaneli Masegosa Gaona, and Carlos Castellanos Dominguez for their work on water reclamation as an integral system as wetlands and tertiary treatment for a sustainable vision. These winners received an award of U.S. $3,000.